Story Behind “The Last Goodbye”

One of my two articles written for Malaysia Day is called “The Last Goodbye“. I enjoyed writing this particular article because my research brought me to the nearest public library, the Kuching South City Council library. Have I told you how much I love the library?

The last goodbye is about the final message of the last British governor of Sarawak before he departed for good.

It was intriguing to be able to read how journalist wrote a news piece back in 1963. Are Malaysians’ standards of English slowly deteriorating since we were no longer a colonial state?

Personally, I’m proud to be able to speak in fluent Malay. But I’m also proud that I can speak in English, Kayan and Mandarin Chinese.

Anyway, my research on Malaysia day led me to this news.

10653397_10152703114828984_7301800366465139045_nAnd yes, back in 1963 a missing fridge was newsworthy in Malaysia.

Leave a Reply

