My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

I watched the movie version of My Sister’s Keeper and I was trying to shake off the image of Cameron Diaz playing a suburban mum in my head while I was reading this. Growing up watching her wrestled with Julia Robert in My Bestfriend’s Wedding and getting hitched with Ashton Kutcher in What Happened In Vegas really changed my view on her capability as an actress when she played a family-oriented role. Through out the book I was trying so hard reminding myself Sara is not Cameron Diaz. As the reading went on, and I was trying to get Picoult’s style of writing, I finally got her rhythm. Oh ya, did I mention this is my first Picoult’s book? I’m a late bloomer when comes to modern lit.

Imagine having to know a story from different views. How Picoult illustrated the words of a 13 year old kid, or a rebellious young adult to a father working as a fireman with the love of astronomy is impressive if not down right intelligent. Every character has its own unique point of view. When you are feeling sympathetic toward Character A and loath toward Character B for what he had done to Character A, your whole perception changed when you read Character B’s mind. I don’t want to be a spoiler for someone whe haven’t read the book. Still there’s one character’s part I skipped a lot because for me it was written more than it should be. If I may put my two cents.

So now, let me do some quoting from this book. Phrases that left its mark on me.

“Why do you think I had to learn to act so independent? I also get mad too quickly, and I hog the covers, and my second toe is longer than my big one. My hair has its own zip code. Plus, I get certifiably crazy when I’ve got PMS. You don’t love someone because they’re perfect,” she says. “You love them in spite of the fact that they’re not.”


I realize then that we never have children, we receive them. And sometimes it’s not for quite as long as we would never expected or hoped. But it is still far better than  never having had those children at all. 


There should be a statute of limitation on grief. 


I cannot help but to agree with the last quote.

Image

Leave a Reply

